Orange Publication’s “Sleeping with Snakes: Notes from the Los Angeles Underbelly” Features Chapter from “The Guys Who Spied for China”

Dec 10, 2009 - 7:10 am


Sleeping with Snakes:  Notes from the Los Angeles Underbelly

Sleeping with Snakes: Notes from the Los Angeles Underbelly from Orange Publications

The first chapter of Gordon Basichis‘ book, “The Guys Who Spied for China” (Minstrel’s Alley 2009) will be featured in the upcoming anthology from Orange Publications, “Sleeping With Snakes:  Notes from the Los Angeles Underbelly.”    In “Sleeping with Snakes”  [www.sleepingwithsnakes.com] Ron Sievers of Orange Publications compiles collections of short stories from new, up and coming authors in the vein of Bukowski, Fante, Hammett, Welsh, Capote, Hemmingway, et al.

You don’t need to flirt with the waitress because she is the actress you slept with two years ago…

In a town made up of transplants and implants, where devils never sleep and a drug score is like a trip to the ATM, one would assume that everyone has as story to tell. Well, within that thick layer of guilt that LA holds above her – call it smog, call it sin – something ain’t right and good or bad, real or fad, you’ll read about the rotting souls that live among the streets that are paved with gold.

Truth and fiction become a blur in this collection of 32 Los Angeles based authors – including an early 80s commentary by the late Charles Bukowski. All of these authors have placed their own spin onto the culture that is so uniquely LA. From sinfully delicious tales of murder to porn and drugs to love, you’ll read everything you ever thought you never wanted to know about this town.

Put your plastic surgeon on hold, fire up the Range Rover and become a part of this capitalist, commercial, celebrity obsessed, self-indulgent community that we all call home.

+ Ron Sievers [ Anthologist ]

Authors in this collection include:
+ Charles Bukowski
+ Brandon Christopher
+ Marc Shapiro
+ Gordon Basichis [ link ]
+ Michael DiGregorio [ link ]
+ Sari Domash [ link ]
+ Brian C. Weed [ link ]
+ Melissa Rosen
+ Darin Bennett [ link ]
+ Matt Dukes Jordan
+ Andrew Charles Bloy
+ Josh Gloer [ link ]
+ John Dooley [ link ]
+ Kathleen Maraschino
+ Dan Fante [ link ]
+ Chris Iovenko [ link ]
+ Marna Bunger [ link ]
+ Trevor Nathaniel Rager
+ David Villanueva [ link ]
+ Todd Eliassen
+ GN Harris
+ Alexis Lockman [ link ]
+ Mark Webster [ link ]
+ Ray Sikorski
+ Gavin Hignight [ link ]
+ Carla Garcia
+ Mike Golden [ link ]
+ Thomas Fuchs
+ Coury Turczyn
+ Rob Neighbors
+ Deidre Woollard
+ Kevin Rogers


Leave a Comment

If you would like to make a comment, please fill out the form below.

Name (required)

Email (required)

Website

Comments

© 2017 Minstrel's Alley All Rights Reserved. Theme by PassionDuo